Menu Close

The Division of the Sky in Chinese Astrology, with Rod Chang

Ancient Chinese divide the sky into seven regions. Three of them, called the Three Enclosures, are near the north celestial pole and the polar star, while the other four, the Four Symbols, are along the zodiac.

These four zodiacal regions are symbolised with totems of dragon, tiger, turtle, and bird, and are further divided into 28 mansions. In this talk, these celestial totems are introduced together with the 28 mansions, and we discuss how these astrological concepts relate to I-Ching and Feng-shui.